Previous Page

Blumenthal Performing Arts Center – Belk Theater

130 N. Tryon St., Charlotte, NC

Phone:
1-(704)-333-4686

Website:
www.blumenthalcenter.org

Get Directions

Featured Event

No upcoming events

Other Upcoming Events

Cats

Musical

There's no better way to introduce your family to the wonders of live theatre than with the magic, the mystery, the memory of 'CATS.' Now that its been seen by millions of audience members worldwide, it’s time to introduce 'CATS' to a new generation. With a book based on the poetry of T.S. Eliot and a score by Andrew Lloyd Webber, this groundbreaking musical won seven Tony Awards. Its New York run was the longest in Broadway history; its London production has been running since 1981. With this new North American tour, the 'CATS' phenomena has continued to live up to its motto: “Now and Forever.”

Information:

• Tue 8/13/19 at - 7:30 PM
• Wed 8/14/19 at - 7:30 PM
• Thu 8/15/19 at - 7:30 PM
• Fri 8/16/19 at - 8:00 PM
• Sat 8/17/19 at - 2:00 PM
• Sat 8/17/19 at - 8:00 PM
• Sun 8/18/19 at - 1:30 PM
• Sun 8/18/19 at - 7:00 PM

Aladdin

Musical

Adapted from the Academy Award-winning Disney animated film, "Aladdin" tells the story of a young man living on the streets of Agrabah, a princess, a magic lamp, and the enormous responsibility of making wishes count.

Information:

• Tue 9/10/19 at - 7:30 PM
• Wed 9/11/19 at - 7:30 PM
• Thu 9/12/19 at - 7:30 PM
• Fri 9/13/19 at - 8:00 PM
• Sat 9/14/19 at - 8:00 PM
• Sat 9/14/19 at - 2:00 PM
• Sun 9/15/19 at - 1:00 PM
• Sun 9/15/19 at - 6:30 PM
• Tue 9/17/19 at - 7:30 PM
• Wed 9/18/19 at - 7:30 PM
• Thu 9/19/19 at - 7:30 PM
• Fri 9/20/19 at - 8:00 PM
• Sat 9/21/19 at - 2:00 PM
• Sat 9/21/19 at - 8:00 PM
• Sun 9/22/19 at - 6:30 PM
• Sun 9/22/19 at - 1:00 PM
• Tue 9/24/19 at - 7:30 PM
• Wed 9/25/19 at - 7:30 PM
• Thu 9/26/19 at - 7:30 PM
• Fri 9/27/19 at - 8:00 PM
• Sat 9/28/19 at - 2:00 PM
• Sat 9/28/19 at - 8:00 PM
• Sun 9/29/19 at - 1:00 PM
• Sun 9/29/19 at - 6:30 PM

Itzhak Perlman Plays Mendelssohn

Classical, Orchestral

The legendary Itzhak Perlman joins your CSO for the must-hear performance of the season.

Information:

• Sat 10/5/19 at - 7:30 PM

Peppa Pig's Adventure

Children's Theatre

Peppa Pig Live! is here with the all-new live show featuring your favorite characters as life size puppets and costume characters in her new live show, Peppa Pig’s Adventure! Come join Peppa on an exciting camping trip to the woods with George and her school friends, including Pedro Pony, Suzy Sheep and Gerald Giraffe. With lunchboxes packed and Daddy Pig driving the bus, Peppa and friends are excited about their outdoor adventure, full of singing, dancing, games and surprises.

Information:

• Sun 10/6/19 at - 3:00 PM

25th Festival of India, Presented by India Association of Charlotte

Fair/Festival

Prepare to be dazzled by the richness of Indian Culture! The 25th Festival of India in Charlotte, October 12 - 13, 2019. For the last twenty plus years this event has drawn thousands of visitors from all around Charlotte and vicinity. This is a great family event where students will find the event educational while adults will find it entertaining. This annual cultural festival showcases diversity of Indian dance, food, art, music and Bollywood entertainment. Don't miss out fun for all ages including yoga demo, get a henna tattoo, dance on the street to live pulsating music and so much more. The event is organized by the India Association of Charlotte a nonprofit, non-religious, cultural organization established to serve the Indian Community in the Charlotte area. Its mission is to share Indian culture with the people of the Carolinas and to foster a better understanding of the cultural diversity of India with the local Indian Diaspora and the mainstream community at large. Admission Info: $7 at the Gate or $6 online at http://www.carolinatix.org Admission free for kids under Age 10 Parking: Event Parking in BoA Deck (5th & College)

Information:

• Sat 10/12/19 - Sun 10/13/19 at 12:00 PM - 8:00 PM

The Nightmare Before Christmas in Concert

Orchestral, Film

What's this, what's this?! It's the wildly inventive world of Tim Burton's macabre classic The Nightmare Before Christmas™ shown in its entirety on a huge screen at Belk Theater. Danny Elfman's rambunctious, colorful score will roar to life in the hands of your Charlotte Symphony as you follow Jack the Pumpkin King's quest to seize Christmas on a large screen above the orchestra.

Information:

• Fri 10/25/19 at - 7:30 PM

The Temptations

R&B/Soul

For more than forty years, The Temptations have prospered, propelling popular music with a series of smash hits, and sold-out performances throughout the world.

Information:

• Sun 10/27/19 at - 7:00 PM

Opera Carolina: Macbeth

Shakespeare, Classical, Opera

Verdi adapted one of Shakespeare’s greatest tragedies into an equally tragic opera. A cautionary tale about what can happen when someone with political ambitions pursues power for its own sake, the story feels both current and timeless.

Information:

• Thu 11/7/19 at 7:30 PM - 10:30 PM
• Sat 11/9/19 at 8:00 PM - 11:00 PM
• Sun 11/10/19 at 2:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Disney Junior Holiday Party

Children's Theatre,Holiday

It’s the most wonderful time of the year because Disney Junior is back on tour, this time with a special Holiday Party. Join us before or after the show for a character greeting with Mickey Mouse, Minnie Mouse, and other very special guests, a photo with Santa Claus, and to enjoy holiday games, music and snacks!

Information:

• Mon 11/18/19 at - 6:00 PM

Home Alone in Concert

Orchestral

Hilarious and heartwarming, Home Alone is a quintessential holiday favorite. Your whole family will delight in John Williams' beloved score performed live, while the full-length film is projected on a big screen above the orchestra. © 1990 Twentieth Century Fox. David Glover, conductor

Information:

• Fri 11/29/19 at - 7:30 PM

Cirque de Noel

Circus, Holiday

The circus meets the symphony this holiday season at Cirque de Noel! Stunning aerial feats, mind-boggling contortions, and jaw-dropping juggling acts will take your breath away--and with these awe-inspiring acrobatics accompanied by musical holiday favorites, this event is sure to fill you and your family with the wonder of the season.

Information:

• Sat 12/28/19 at - 7:30 PM

Charlotte Symphony: New Year's Eve Celebration

Classical, Jazz, Orchestral

Ring in the New Year with your Charlotte Symphony! Includes after-party, with desserts, champagne, and dancing.

Information:

• Tue 12/31/19 at 9:00 PM - 12:00 AM

Opera Carolina: La Bohème

Drama, music, classical, Opera

Before the Broadway blockbuster Rent, Puccini brought the starving artist trope to exquisite life in La Bohème. Jonathan Larson’s musical about artists, squatting in squalor, was inspired by his love for Puccini’s opera. The characters in Rent are dying from AIDS. In La Bohème, It’s tuberculosis, the scourge of the 19th century.

Information:

• Sat 1/18/20 at 8:00 PM - 11:00 PM
• Sun 1/19/20 at 2:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 1/23/20 at 7:30 PM - 10:30 PM

Opera Carolina: I Dream

blues, r&b, opera, Experimental/Perf. Art

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. changed the course of American history and remains one of the country’s most revered and iconic leaders. Set over the final 36 hours of Dr. King’s life, I Dream celebrates the man, his struggles and the movement he championed.

Information:

• Sun 4/19/20 at 2:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 4/23/20 at 7:30 PM - 10:30 PM
• Sat 4/25/20 at 8:00 PM - 11:00 PM