Previous Page

Providence United Methodist Church

2810 Providence Rd., Charlotte, NC

Phone:
1-(704)-366-2823

Website:
www.providenceumc.org

Get Directions

Featured Event

No upcoming events

Other Upcoming Events

Centering Prayer Group - at - Providence UMC

Religious

Join us for Centering Prayer each Monday at noon in the Chapel. Many find this time of stillness with God replenishing and soothing. For more information, contact the Rev. Dr. Bill Jeffries, 704.714.9368.

Information:

• Mon 10/22/18 at 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM

NAMI-Charlotte presents an Education Forum

Talks/Lectures

NAMI-Charlotte invites you to a FREE Education Forum featuring two Charlotteans who presented at the NAMI National Convention in New Orleans in July, 2018. Award-winning author, Linda Vigen Phillips, will speak about “Mental Health: The Power of Books, Reflection, and Community.” Linda will talk about her own book, Crazy, and five others that were featured at the national convention this year. Participants will take part in a short, therapeutic writing exercise, and learn about the drop-in center called Providence Place, for persons with mental illness and their families. David Boyle will use a slide-show of his own artwork to illustrate the story of his lived experience with schizophrenia. David is active in the art community, most recently teaching an art class at CPCC for persons with mental illness called Art Health Studio: The Psych – Art, Artists and Mental Health. He has been a featured speaker at the International Crisis Intervention Team Conference twice, and will be speaking in October at the NAMI North Carolina Conference. An optional supper will be available at 5:30 for $7.50. Call 704-366-2823 for reservations. The program is offered for FREE at 6:30. Donations will be appreciated as they help fund the many FREE programs NAMI-Charlotte provides in this community.

Information:

• Wed 10/24/18 at 5:30 PM - 6:30 PM6:30 PM8:00 PM

Providence Chamber Music Series

Classical

The Providence Chamber Players open the Providence Chamber Music Series’ 2016-2017 Season with an eclectic mix of music. The concert begins with Rachmaninoff’s Trio élégiaque no. 1 in G minor for violin, cello, and piano, written in 1892, and ends with the annual performance of the very popular Charlotte Mandolin Quintet. In between we hear Clémence de Grandval’s Romance et Gavotte for oboe, cello, and piano (1884) and a Serenade for Cello and Piano, composed by our frequently featured Davidson composer, Mary Armistead-Jones.

Information:

• Sun 10/28/18 at 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Centering Prayer Group - at - Providence UMC

Religious

Join us for Centering Prayer each Monday at noon in the Chapel. Many find this time of stillness with God replenishing and soothing. For more information, contact the Rev. Dr. Bill Jeffries, 704.714.9368.

Information:

• Mon 10/29/18 at 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
• Mon 11/5/18 at 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
• Mon 11/12/18 at 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
• Mon 11/19/18 at 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
• Mon 11/26/18 at 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
• Mon 12/3/18 at 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
• Mon 12/10/18 at 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
• Mon 12/17/18 at 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
• Mon 12/24/18 at 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
• Mon 12/31/18 at 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
• Mon 1/7/19 at 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
• Mon 1/14/19 at 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
• Mon 1/21/19 at 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
• Mon 1/28/19 at 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
• Mon 2/4/19 at 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
• Mon 2/11/19 at 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
• Mon 2/18/19 at 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM