Previous Page

Cleveland County Arts Council

111 S. Washington St., Shelby, NC

Phone:
1-(704)-484-2787

Get Directions

Featured Event

Baseball as Art Exhibition

Art Show

National, International and Local artists come together to celebrate Baseball as Art at the Cleveland County Arts Council in Shelby, NC. The exhibition coincides with the American Legion World Series games August 16 – 21, 2018. Join us at the Cleveland County Arts Council for the Baseball as Art exhibition July 12 - August 20, 2018. Featured Artists: Margie Lawrence; Dennis Huntley; Pete Sack; Jason Yoder; Sean Kane; David Lowe; Brent Naughton; Jeff Baker (Gypsy Oak); Elias Stein; Noah Stokes; Todd Radom; James Bennett; John Hanley

Information:

• Fri 7/20/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
• Mon 7/23/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
• Tue 7/24/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
• Wed 7/25/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
• Thu 7/26/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
• Fri 7/27/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
• Mon 7/30/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
• Tue 7/31/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
• Wed 8/1/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
• Thu 8/2/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
• Fri 8/3/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
• Mon 8/6/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
• Tue 8/7/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
• Wed 8/8/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
• Thu 8/9/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
• Fri 8/10/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
• Mon 8/13/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
• Tue 8/14/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
• Wed 8/15/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
• Thu 8/16/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
• Fri 8/17/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
• Mon 8/20/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM

Other Upcoming Events

Real to Reel International Film Festival

Film

Our goal is to showcase thought-provoking films and offer a venue where movie lovers who appreciate independent vision can celebrate this unique art form. The Cleveland County Arts Council is pleased to announce that on July 25-28, 2018 the 19th Annual “Real to Reel International Film Festival” will once again open its doors to embrace filmmakers and film lovers alike. Real to Reel Kids Fest sponsored by KidSenses Children's Interactive Museum will be a screening of films made for kids 14 and under and films made by Kids 14 and under! This screening will be July 28th, 10am-Noon. Located in the heart of North Carolina between Asheville and Charlotte, Cleveland County is right in the middle of it all. The mission of the Real to Reel International Film Festival is to offer a forum for independent film, video and multi-media artists from around the world to showcase their talents and expose the works of these artists to our region. Visitors to the Joy Performance Center - 202 S. Railroad Ave., Kings Mountain, a renovated classic theater from the 1940’s in Kings Mountain, NC can expect to find a great lineup of films from all over the world, a chance to talk with many of the filmmakers and of course a concession stand with all those goodies you would expect to find.

Information:

• Wed 7/25/18 - Sat 7/28/18 at

The Sky's The Limit - Aerial Photography Exhibit

Photography

“The Sky’s The Limit” Aerial Photography Exhibit The Cleveland County Arts Council is exhibiting Artists/Photographers whose photographs were taken from an elevated or direct-down position. Platforms for aerial photography include but are not limited to fixed -wing aircraft, helicopters, unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs or "drones"), balloons, blimps and dirigibles, rockets, kites, parachutes, stand-alone telescoping, and vehicle -mounted poles.

Information:

• Thu 8/30/18 - Thu 9/6/18 at

Carolina Pottery Festival - November 3, 2018, 10am - 4pm

Art Show, Ceramics/Pottery, Folk Art/Crafts, Sculpture

The Carolina Pottery Festival features more than 100 local and regional potters, showing and selling their work. You can expect to see traditional, contemporary, functional, decorative and sculptural work--something for everyone! Meet the potters who create the work, find out the story behind the pottery strikes your fancy and enjoy this indoor event at the Legrand Center, 1800 E. Marion St., Shelby, NC.

Information:

• Sat 11/3/18 at 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Mystery Art Exhibition

Art Show, Drawings/Works on Paper, Gallery, Museum

Mystery Art is anonymous works of art, made by artists local and regional on display and sold at our Mystery Art event October 18 - November 15. All artists’ identities remain concealed until the work is sold!

Information:

• Thu 10/18/18 - Thu 11/15/18 at

Handmade for the Holidays Gift Gallery at Cleveland County Arts Council

Art Show, Ceramics/Pottery, Folk Art/Crafts, Gallery, Sculpture, Textiles

Handmade for the Holidays Gift Show opens to the public at 9:00am, November 30th. Shoppers are welcome Monday through Thursday, 9:00 – 5:30, Fridays 9:00 – 7:00 and Saturdays 10:00 – 2:00pm. This is a great way to do your holiday shopping for handcrafted gifts by local and regional artists. Items for sale include: Pottery, Table Runners, Wreaths, Jewelry, Pins and Ornaments, Organic Soaps and Lotions and MORE!

Information:

• Thu 11/29/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
• Fri 11/30/18 at 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
• Sat 12/1/18 at 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
• Mon 12/3/18 - Thu 12/6/18 at 9:00 PM - 5:30 PM
• Fri 12/7/18 at 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
• Sat 12/8/18 at 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
• Mon 12/10/18 - Thu 12/13/18 at 9:00 PM - 5:30 PM
• Fri 12/14/18 at 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
• Sat 12/15/18 at 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
• Mon 12/17/18 - Thu 12/20/18 at 9:00 PM - 5:30 PM
• Fri 12/21/18 at 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
• Sat 12/22/18 at 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM