Previous Page

Carolina Raptor Center

6000 Sample Rd., Huntersville, NC

Phone:
1-(704)-875-6521

Website:
www.carolinaraptorcenter.org

Get Directions

Featured Event

Summer Camp - Carolina Raptor Center

Children, Nature

Get your kids off of the couch and to Carolina Raptor Center this summer! We are offering seven different weeks of camp for kids ages 6 to 14 years old. This is a week-long camp everyday from 8:30 to 4:30. Each camp comes with a full week of fun, outdoor activities and of course, RAPTORS! Registration for these camps opens up February 1st, 2018, and full payment is required to reserve a spot.Most of our camps are limited to 24 participants a week - except for the Keeper II camps designed for 8 lucky campers each week. Session 1: June 18-22 Raptor Keeper Level I Camp ages 9-12 Session 2: June 25-29 Raptor Keeper Level II Camp ages 13-14 (Must have taken Keeper I camp in previous year) Session 3: July 9-13 Birds and Beasties Camp Ages 6-8 Session 4: July 16-20 Young Vet's Camp Ages 9-12 Session 5: July 23-27 Fantastic Birds and Where to Find Them Ages 6-8 Session 6: July 30-August 3 Raptor Keeper I Camp ages 12-14 Session 7: August 6-10 Raptor Keeper II Camp Ages 13-14 (Must have taken Keeper I camp in session 6 or in previous year)

Information:

• Fri 7/20/18 at 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
• Mon 7/23/18 at 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
• Tue 7/24/18 at 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
• Wed 7/25/18 at 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
• Thu 7/26/18 at 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
• Fri 7/27/18 at 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
• Mon 7/30/18 at 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
• Tue 7/31/18 at 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
• Wed 8/1/18 at 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
• Thu 8/2/18 at 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
• Fri 8/3/18 at 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
• Mon 8/6/18 at 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
• Tue 8/7/18 at 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
• Wed 8/8/18 at 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
• Thu 8/9/18 at 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
• Fri 8/10/18 at 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

Other Upcoming Events

Flight Shows and Raptor Encounters

Education, Nature

Flight Shows - Taking off on Memorial Day weekend, our Flights of the Forest Show is exciting AND educational. Feel the wind from a raptor's wing as they fly overhead. Saturdays and Sundays from May 26 through August 26 at 11:00 AM. Raptor Encounters - Enjoy a variety of "nose to beak" encounters with some of our most interesting raptor species. It is sure to ellicit wonder in your whole family. Tickets will be sold online up until 24 hours before the encounter and in the Visitor Center up until 30 minutes before the encounter begins. Saturdays and Sundays from May 26 through August 26 at 1:00 PM. Not ADA accessible. Must be 7 or older to participate, children 16 and under must be accompanied by an adult.

Information:

• Sat 7/21/18 at 11:00 AM - 11:30 AM1:00 PM1:30 PM
• Sun 7/22/18 at 11:00 AM - 11:30 AM1:00 PM1:30 PM
• Sat 7/28/18 at 11:00 AM - 11:30 AM1:00 PM1:30 PM
• Sun 7/29/18 at 11:00 AM - 11:30 AM1:00 PM1:30 PM

Birds and Brews - Get Outta the Nest!

Nature

Event at Resident Culture Brewing Company 2101 Central Avenue, Charlotte - Birds mature quick and their parents kick them out (sometimes before they are ready)! Come and learn about our re-nesting program and get some tips on how to leave the nest. We’ll have a nest building contest with fun prizes. No admission fee.

Information:

• Tue 7/31/18 at 6:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Flight Shows and Raptor Encounters

Education, Nature

Flight Shows - Taking off on Memorial Day weekend, our Flights of the Forest Show is exciting AND educational. Feel the wind from a raptor's wing as they fly overhead. Saturdays and Sundays from May 26 through August 26 at 11:00 AM. Raptor Encounters - Enjoy a variety of "nose to beak" encounters with some of our most interesting raptor species. It is sure to ellicit wonder in your whole family. Tickets will be sold online up until 24 hours before the encounter and in the Visitor Center up until 30 minutes before the encounter begins. Saturdays and Sundays from May 26 through August 26 at 1:00 PM. Not ADA accessible. Must be 7 or older to participate, children 16 and under must be accompanied by an adult.

Information:

• Sat 8/4/18 at 11:00 AM - 11:30 AM1:00 PM1:30 PM
• Sun 8/5/18 at 11:00 AM - 11:30 AM1:00 PM1:30 PM
• Sat 8/11/18 at 11:00 AM - 11:30 AM1:00 PM1:30 PM
• Sun 8/12/18 at 11:00 AM - 11:30 AM1:00 PM1:30 PM
• Sat 8/18/18 at 11:00 AM - 11:30 AM1:00 PM1:30 PM
• Sun 8/19/18 at 11:00 AM - 11:30 AM1:00 PM1:30 PM
• Sat 8/25/18 at 11:00 AM - 11:30 AM1:00 PM1:30 PM
• Sun 8/26/18 at 11:00 AM - 11:30 AM1:00 PM1:30 PM

International Vulture Awareness Day

Nature, Animals

Immerse yourself in "vulture culture" and learn why vultures are key to a healthy environment. These "nature's garbagemen" help clean up carcasses of dead animals and prevent the spread of disease. In places where their numbers are decreasing, like in India, this deficit is becoming a big problem for the human population that depends on them. Vultures are an ecologically vital group of birds that face a range of threats in many areas that they occur. Populations of many species are under pressure and some species are facing extinction.

Information:

• Sat 9/8/18 at 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Photo Wild at Carolina Raptor Center

Nature

Amateur and professional photographers alike will enjoy this professional photo shoot featuring Carolina Raptor Center's resident raptors. Each day highlights over 20 different raptors in unique settings each day. The morning starts with an early-bird breakfast at 7:30 a.m., followed by six, thirty-minute sessions, ending around 11 am. Each day will start with a free-flight rotation with some of our flight show superstars. Prices for one day attendance or a weekend pass

Information:

• Sat 10/13/18 - Sun 10/14/18 at 7:30 AM - 11:00 AM